Individual Online Courses
Subject Matter Requirements
For Florida’s Certified and Registered Contractors 14 hours of board-approved continuing education is required every two years prior to the renewal period. At least 1 hour must deal with workplace safety, 1 hour on the subject of worker’s compensation, 1 hour of business practices, 1 hour of laws and rules and 1 hour on Florida Building Code advanced modules. .
Online Course Offerings. Just Click and You’re Good to Go!
The 5 Compliance Courses
*Workplace Safety (0609246) [1 hour WPS] Features occupational safety for construction, the relevant OSHA law (29 CFR 1926), and the rules and regulations for safety and health standards for construction. Cost: $19.95
*Wind Mitigation (0609244) [1 hour WMM] Features why windstorm mitigation is important in Florida, what prompted state officials to offer financial incentives to Florida homeowners for hardening their homes, how to complete the Mitigation Verification Inspection Form. Cost: $19.95
Construction Liens (0609241) [1 hour BSP] This course specifically deals with contracts for improvements to real property consisting of single or multiple family dwellings up to and including four units. The relevant law discussed throughout the course is found in Florida Statutes, Chapter 713 Liens, Part 1. Generally, known as the Construction Lien Law. Cost: $19.95
Employment Practices in the Construction Industry) (0609240) [1 hour BSP] Features the many employment laws that affect your business, including at-will-employment versus contract employment, employee selection guidelines, wage and hour guidelines, discrimination laws and much more. Cost: $19.95
Contracts in the Construction Industry (0609242) [1 BSP] This course specifically discusses the contractual relationship between you as a contractor and your client, how a contract is formed and what happens if either you or your client fails to perform under the terms and conditions of the contract. Cost: $19.95
Financial Management (0609783) [2 hour G] This course specifically discusses the components of financial management, understanding financial statements, accounts receivable and accounts payable, collections, you and your accountant. Cost: $39.95
Insurance and Risk Management (0609781) [3 hour G] This course discusses introduction to insurance, property insurance, liability insurance, business risk analysis, self insurance vs. risk transfer. Cost: $59.95
MEETING YOUR CE NEEDS WITH OUR ONLINE COURSES
• Simple and easy to use subject matter
• Narrated for your ease of learning and understanding
• Self paced so it accommodates your busy schedule – take it when and where you like!
• Quick and easy evaluation of your understanding of the subject matter.
• Course completion submitted immediately
• Your completion certificate available immediately
Note: Contractors who are engaged in alarm system contracting must take a 2 (two) hour false alarm prevention course as a part of their continuing education. GSI does not currently have these hours in our program. We plan on have an online course for this requirement shortly. For questions – Contact Us.
We’re here to help you through license renewal process!
If you have more questions or simply want more information, choose one of the options below:
- E-mail Support
- Speak with a Representative at 800.223.5457
CERTIFIED AND REGISTERED CONTRACTORS
CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS
For Florida’s Certified and Registered Contractors 14 hours of board-approved continuing education is required every two years prior to the renewal period. At least 1 hour must deal with workplace safety, 1 hour on the subject of worker’s compensation, 1 hour of business practices, 1 hour of laws and rules and 1 hour on Florida Building Code advanced modules. A person who holds more than one certificate or registration (license) issued by the Florida board or a county board is required to complete their continuing education requirements only once during each two-year renewal period.(i.e.: a GC holding a roofing license need only take 14 hours of CE for both licenses). The two year renewal cycle ends on August 31 of EVEN numbered years for Certified Contractors and August 31 of ODD numbered years for Registered Contractors.
CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS
The Florida contractor license law requires all electrical contractors to complete 14 hours of education for each two year license period. Of the 14 hours you must include the 5 Compliance Courses included in our 14 hour packages and, if you need only 7 hours, then choose one of the 7 hour compliance packages:
*Laws and Rules (1 hr) *Workplace Safety (1 hr) *Wind Mitigation (1 hr) *Worker’s Compensation (1 hr) and *Advanced Building Code (1 hr) Newly licensed contractors may only be required to complete seven hours of continuing education or no continuing education depending on when they are licensed.
Note: Contractors who are engaged in alarm system contracting must take a 2 (two) hour false alarm prevention course as a part of their continuing education. GSI does not currently have these hours in our program. We plan on offering an online course for this requirement shortly. For questions – Contact Us.